ECFC SA's Receive National Honors

MARSHFIELD, Mass. - Several Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) student-athletes were honored by national organizations and media outlets in the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) and In total six players were recognized, hailing from ECFC members Husson University and Maritime College.

John Smith (Fayetville, Ga.) earned AFCA Division III First Team All-American honors after a record-breaking season at Husson. His selection marked the first time in program history the Eagles had a player receive this honor. 

The AFCA All-American team is selected by a committee comprised of three head coaches from each of the organization's eight districts. 

Smith also headlined the All-East Region team as the only first team selection from the ECFC. Fellow Husson teammates in Brad Weston (Pittston, Maine) and Jean Gabriel (Lake Worth, Fla.) earned Second Team honors on offense and defense respectively. Quan Soyini (Manchester, Conn.) was recognized on the Third Team defense. 

Matthew Murphy (Seaford, N.Y.) and Thomas Korwan (Wantagh, N.Y.) of Maritime College earned a spot on the Second Team offense and Third Team offense respectively. 

The teams, selected in balloting by East Region sports information directors and staff, were chosen from 321 nominations by Division III member schools. A total of 77 players were chosen. Players nominated for All-Region are eligible to be considered for All-America honors, which will be announced the evening of Dec. 15, in's pregame coverage for Stagg Bowl XLV.

Pioneers Ride Past Mustangs
October 28, 2017 Pioneers Ride Past Mustangs
2017 ECFC Weekly Release #3
September 18, 2017 2017 ECFC Weekly Release #3
2017 ECFC Weekly Release #2
September 11, 2017 2017 ECFC Weekly Release #2
2017 ECFC Preseason Poll
August 22, 2017 2017 ECFC Preseason Poll
Countdown to Kickoff
July 24, 2017 Countdown to Kickoff